GEN

*My lovely wife had just given that girl of mine a bath.  She brought her into the bedroom, with the toddler wrapped in a towel.  Clean and cute and dappled with water.  I was laying on the bed reading a book. I looked over and smiled, thankful for my wonderful life.  I went back to reading.  And my dangerous wife said “how about some GENITALS!” and the naked baby girl was straddling my neck.  Since I value my youngling’s safety I couldn’t easily escape, for fear of knocking her off the bed.  Shortly my devious wife had lifted the baby off of me and I scrambled away.  As I turned towards my impish wife she was brandishing a GENerous serving of opposite GENder cross GENerational GENITALS at my visage.  Everyone agreed this was hilarious.

*(Though this story is true in the way that all great myths carry universal truths, every detail of it is ficticious)

Biology

  • Gene
  • Genetic
  • Generation
  • Genitals
  • Genus
  • Gender
  • Regenerate
  • Progeny
  • Antigen
  • Pathogen

Mechanical

  • Generate
  • Generator
  • Generation
  • Engine
  • Engineer
  • Oxygen
  • Hydrogen
  • Nitrogen

Miscellany

  • Gentle
  • General
  • Generic
  • Genius
  • Genie
  • Genuine
  • Engender
  • Genesis
  • Gentrified
  • Genial
  • Agent
  • Tangent
  • Generous
  • Gentile

Homophones

  • Unguent
  • Pungent
  • Urgent
  • Emergency
  • Arrogant
  • Pageant
  • Ginseng
  • …and tonic
  • Pigeon

So went the phoneme game

My incredible wife, while awash in genital puns, came to the (correct) conclusion that GEN was from the latin for “to produce” which led to the mechanical family of words (Generate, Engineer) as well as the biological (Genetics, Progeny, Genitals).  Genius is a producer of ideas.  Genie is a producer of wishes. (this is a case of failed etymological reverse engineering… Genie is a bastardization of Djinn which is Arabic not Latin)

At this point I proposed that the word evolution went from Genital to Gentle, because of how it’s best to handle those things, which led to Gentlemen and Gentry because they’re all a bunch of twats.

Turns out Gentile is the key for going from “to produce” to Gentle.  My only exposure to the word Gentile meant non-jew from my early catholic brain washing religious classes.  So Gentile comes from Gentis for “race or class” similar to Genus/Species.  Gentile is actually used for “non-jew” (goyim) “non-christian” “heathen” “race-clan” and “of noble rank or birth” over the course of the 12th to 14thcenturies.  That last meaning led to Gentry and Gentlemen, and Gentle came from there.

I also feel I should mention that the german word for hydrogen is wasserstoff, which is really funny since the english word for hydrogen is latin for “producer of water.”

Special thanks to Mrs. Utley my HS etymology teacher, and http://www.etymonline.com/

One thought on “GEN

  1. Pingback: Boiler tuning and Shadman adrift | Shadman The Wonderguy

Leave a Reply

