Meta Blogging

I observed something on my wordpress stats… Over half the time someone finds their way to my blog through a search engine, they are searching for images of “Game of thrones incest.”  Or “Jamie and Cersei Lannister.”  They are obviously drawn to THIS post.  They are not going to that post however, they are going to the Home page /archives… which lets me know they are not even going to the post at all, Google’s just showing them the picture.  I find myself really annoyed at the thought that people are using google to check out the pic I stole and not bothering to read the witty thing I said in it’s context.  Let’s be totally honest, I didn’t take the picture, I’m not in the picture, I didn’t do the screen capture, I didn’t shop the 2 screen caps together… Even the quote “a little too much incest” was something a friend said which I treated as “found poetry.”  My only contributions consisted of stealing/compiling and the observation that the Star Wars Episode-V had “the right amount of incest.”

 Welcome to the age of the remix. and the ever expanding concept of “fair use.”  To what degree is everything on the internet public domain?  To what degree is everything on the internet “fair game.”  Would the post in question work without the 2 stolen pictures? Yes, but less so… Picture 1 adds a graphic shock that a discussion of “too much incest” deserves.  Picture 2 freshens in the mind of the less StarWarsNerdy readers the relationship between Luke and Leia, and that moment when Leia is trying to make Han jealous… You don’t even know it’s incesty until halfway through the next movie.  But look at their faces.  That moment is tender.  And in rewatching that tenderness is just a little disturbing. 

So what do I want out of blogging?  Mainly I just like the idea of people listening to things I think about.  I like the idea of you all laughing at things that make me laugh and contemplating the things that make me think, but I’ll settle for you contemplating the things that make me laugh and laughing at the things that make me think.  I admit I like the idea of gathering thousands of minions followers.  But you know what they say: 10,000 followers and $3.50 will get you latte.

Leave a Reply

