Don’t forget to breathe

I was laying in bed doing breathing exercises.  In deep through the nose like smelling a flower

Anosmia

Link to source

for a slow 3 count, feel the chest expand and the belly stretch out.  Exhale with mild force through slightly pursed lips, like blowing bubbles,

Choose love, Blow bubbles

click to follow to bubble blowing post

 

feel the tensed torso relaxing as I mentally say “STILLNESS.”

I did this around 10 times (I don’t actually count) but when I was finished I couldn’t stop.  In CRO terms, I couldn’t get my breathing to go back into auto.  I couldn’t find the source of the manual reject, but when I stopped thinking about breathing… I stopped breathing.  I decided to hold my breath, thinking that when I couldn’t hold it any longer and started gasping for air that surely reflex would take over.  It didn’t work.  I think I didn’t push it hard enough.  Instead of holding my breath until reflex took over I only held my breath until it was really uncomfortable.  So then I lay in bed, staring at the ceiling, breathing, and thinking, and thinking about breathing.

I wondered how effectively I could divide my attention.  Could I breath and carry a conversation?  Could I breath and do math?  Could I breath and walk and chew bubble gum? Was I perpetually multi-tasking with the associated loss of quality.  Would I forever be one of those people who are driving and talking on their phone?

Eventually I fell asleep.  When I woke up I was breathing normally and didn’t even remember it had been a problem until mid-morning.

Hazard of mindful breathing:  Forgetting how to breath mindlessly.

Leave a Reply

